top of page
  • Writer's pictureAbby

Skinny Grapefruit Margarita

This grapefruit cocktail is a healthier version of a classic Margarita with a tart and spicy twist. It works well with gin or tequila, or just about any alcohol of choice - or opt for a mocktail to keep it whole30 and alcohol free.


I used what I had on hand to throw together a margarita (Cinco de Mayo quarantine style) which means I used gin in place of tequila, but it turned out amazing!


I love grapefruit and have liked eating it without sugar since I can remember. Therefore, I kept this recipe with no added sugar. If you know you'd like a sweeter margarita, definitely add in a sweetener of your choice. Make a simple syrup, use honey or agave nectar to ease off the tart taste.



Skinny Grapefruit Margarita

Ingredients:

2 shots tequila or gin

Juice of 1/2 large grapefruit

Juice of 2 limes

Juice of 1 orange (optional)

2 slices of jalapeño or any chili pepper


Method:

1. First rim the glass with @traderjoes chili lime seasoning or salt.

2. Fill up the glass with ice.

3. Squeeze all the citrus and and slice the chili pepper.

4. Combine all ingredients in the glass and stir (or use a cocktail shaker).

5. Top with a slice of pepper, piece of cilantro and wedge of lime.

Notes:

If you really want it spicy, let sit for 2+ hours and the will do its trick! It’s tart & spicy!!

Fresh squeezed orange juice, orange liqueur and agave/honey/simple syrup would be great if looking to use a sweetener. I enjoyed it without orange juice or orange liqueur but I am used to healthy cocktails/mocktails and I used a very juicy, sweet grapefruit.



This glass is HUGE so that’s why it’s only half full.


23 views0 comments
bottom of page